Hyper-V Cluster Migration 2008 R2 and 2012 (R2) to 2012 R2

Beginning of 2013 I published a post about how to migrate Virtual Machines from a 2008 R2 Failover Cluster to a 2012 Failover Cluster.

Today, answering a Forum Question in Technet I looked back at that post:
https://jensit.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/hyper-v-cluster-migration-2008-r2-to-2012/

All that has changed in that process is the naming of one Button. Instead of “Migrate Roles” it’s now “Copy Cluster Roles”.

Therefore I can say that the manual is as well valid for migrations towards 2012 R2.

Of course every environment is unique (you may use SMB Storage, etc.), therefore take care and test the scenario before migrating your productive VMs.

Saludos,
Jens

About

I'm a Systems Engineer working for an IT-Service Provider in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. I am specialized in Virtualization, High Availability, Storage- and Server Administration. In my free time, I like spend time with my lovely wife, to do sports like jogging and biking. I enjoy movies and a good bottle of fermented grape juice.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Storage, Virtualization, Windows Server 2012 R2
One comment on “Hyper-V Cluster Migration 2008 R2 and 2012 (R2) to 2012 R2
  1. M2wa2 says:

    Reblogged this on M2wa2..

Leave a Reply

