Windows 2012 – Missing MPIO Device Support

During the last weeks I installed four HP Blades with Windows Server 2012 for use in a Hyper-V Cluster.
The disks subsystem being used is a HP EVA.

After installing MPIO, I presented LUNs to the Blades.
Unfortunately, on three of the Servers, each disk was shown for times. Looked like MPIO was not working.

mpio fail

Checking the MPIO GUI, it showed only HSV200 as supported device. No other Enterprise Storage was registered.

After some time of research, I found the command for registering other devices:
mpclaim.exe -r -i -a “”

This adds support for all devices that are enterprise storage devices.

After running this, I restarted my servers and each disk was only shown once and also the MPIO GUI looked a little different:

mpio ok

About

I'm a Systems Engineer working for an IT-Service Provider in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. I am specialized in Virtualization, High Availability, Storage- and Server Administration. In my free time, I like spend time with my lovely wife, to do sports like jogging and biking. I enjoy movies and a good bottle of fermented grape juice.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in MPIO, Server, Storage
One comment on “Windows 2012 – Missing MPIO Device Support
  1. Excellent post. Keep posting such kind of information on your page.

    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hey there, You’ve performed an incredible job.

    I will certainly digg it and for my part recommend to my friends.
    I am sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

Leave a Reply

